The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

planting seedlings

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
« Prev thread: Planting Round the Triangle| Next thread: Planting Seeds »
Back to Thread index
by Meg on June 08, 2004 05:45 PM
Ok, so I'm completely new at gardening and it's rather exciting to see stuff live and grow and it's mine! But, of course, there's the downside of seeing something fail as well.

I joined the Arbor Day Foundation thru thier website and recieved my 10 free flowering trees (which I don't even have enough yard for that many trees!) and I also purchased some shrubs & a flowering cherry tree & a self pollenating peach tree. Along with my purchases, they sent me free - 2 red maple seedlings, and 4 forsythia seedlings. I planted the cherry tree first.. and I believe it died. When it arrived, it had some green blooms on it, and about 2 weeks ago, it was nothing more than a shriveled stick. *sigh* So, my 2nd shipment finally arrived with my 10 free trees. I took out the cherry tree (very upset, I wanted a cherry tree badly), and replaced it with a redbud. I hope this one lives. At the same time, I planted in the very front of my yard, 2 washington hawthornes. Of course, being all seedlings, I have 3 things that look like sticks sticking up in my yard, surrounded by mulch and rocks. The rocks, believe it or not, came from the ground where I had to dig the holes. Oh my.. as if clay isn't hard enough to dig, I had rocks every time I put my shovel down.

The 4 forsythis all look great!! One even had a yellow blossom on it right after I planted them. It fell off of course.. and what looked like sticks, now has a bunch of green on them, looking a lot less like sticks now!