The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

basil seedlings

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
« Prev thread: basil pruning| Next thread: Basils.. »
Back to Thread index
by rozy221 on March 15, 2005 05:18 AM
OK guys-you're going to have to bear with me here-I'm VERY new to planting seeds (as in I did it once before, several years ago). I wanted to have a small indoor basil garden. I planted some seeds, following the directions on the package. I used plastic pots and houseplant soil mix. I watered thoroughly and covered with seran wrap with a couple of vent holes. I put these in a west window, and occasionally gave them a shot with the heat/light lamp. They sprouted, but then turned brown and seemed to disappear. I also planted a few in the little lizard tank, just for the fun of it (I'm sure he likes plants too!) Those received the heat/light lamp almost continuously, but from a greater distance. Those sprouted, but they haven't grown in about a week (at least). They're MAYBE 1/4" high. What am I doing wrong? Is there any hope? Thanks!
by sidheblooms on March 15, 2005 07:18 AM
hi rozy! shucks about yer seedlings, but try try again! we always learn from our mistakes..thats all part of the process. good thing there are soo many basil seeds in a package, no?

i was trying to picture what went wrong, and i was wondering if you kep the saran wrap on the whole time? the thing with starting most seeds, is that they need warmth and humidity to germinate. but once you see the first sprout, then they start to require AIR. once i see sprouts, i remove my covers and allow air flow. fungal activity has destroyed many-a-young seedling. that may be why the ones in the tank did better...just a thought. teehee..your lizard will have the best breath on the block!!