The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Are these suckers on my African Violet?

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Are these seeds??| Next thread: Are they sad, or is it just me... »
Back to Thread index
by Amany on March 28, 2006 08:29 AM
Ok, I'm new to AVs. That means I may not always know what I'm looking at. Do I have suckers? If so, are they large enough to pot? Or are these a part of my plant's growth that should be left alone?
http://i63.photobucket.com/albums/h144/AmanyB/Suckers/Picture022.jpg
http://i63.photobucket.com/albums/h144/AmanyB/Suckers/Picture028.jpg

http://i63.photobucket.com/albums/h144/AmanyB/Suckers/Picture027.jpg
by JV on March 28, 2006 08:47 AM
Amany I also am new to AV's Barleychown is the resident expert on them. She can tell you I looked but could not tell anything. Just want to welcome you to the forum.
Jimmy

-
 -
Meet Clyde my Male Sugar Glider. Clyde says.
Keep it organic
GOD BLESS THE U.S.A.
Pray for our Troops!

-
by Sorathien on March 28, 2006 12:16 PM
it is very hard to sepparate babies off an african violet. i've snapped the whole top of a plant off the roots trying to do it. they are very fragile. i would not bother. if you want another plant, try rooting a single leaf.
by Amany on March 28, 2006 10:17 PM
I certainly don't want to cause any damage. I'd rather just remove the leaves. First I want to make sure that what I have are suckers.

Thanks Jimmy. I've been lurking around here for a few months now. Because plants have become a recent hobby (obsession?), and I don't know a lot about them, I haven't had much to contribute. But you good folks are certainly teaching me.
by dodge on March 30, 2006 08:44 AM
[Big Grin]

SUCKERS ON THE AV PLANTS......

[dunno]
I THINK THE SUCKERS ............ARE US!!!

[Love] DODGE

-
 -
''''Those who live in the Lord Never See Each Other For The Last Time!''''