The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Hibiscus

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
« Prev thread: Hibiscus| Next thread: Hibiscus »
Back to Thread index
by Sami on October 18, 2004 12:49 AM
I ordered some Hibiscus. When they came in, they are "dormant" bare roots with stems, looks dried out...almost like dead sticks. I want to get them started. Should I do this inside or would it be ok to start them outside now & will they make it through the winter? I don't want to harm them but I want to get my fall planting done & move on to other things. I'm really concerned, I've never done this before.

I, also, have some other bulbs that I I'm going to go ahead & plant in the ground. I think they'll be ok

They are:
Tulipa Clusiana Sheila (Red-Golden)
Glory of the snow (Pale Blue)
Anemone Blanda Blue Shade (Blue)
Brodiaea Laxa Queen Fabiola (Lilac)
Crocus tommas Ruby Giant (Violet-Blue)
Anemone Coronaria De Caen (Mix)
Allium Moly (Golden)

and some Poppy Anemone

Does anyone have any advice or suggestions or any information that might be helpful? I've never done this before but I read that getting bulbs in the ground in the fall makes for quick Spring flowering.

-
Talentless but connected.
by melcon6 on October 18, 2004 02:17 AM
quote:
"dormant" bare roots with stems
Never had luck with these. My sister and I call them "the sticks" and we're always saying now "No more sticks" and we go to plant shops or Walmart,Home Depot and only buy real plants now.
The sticks I've always followed the directions that come with them. It usually says to soak the stick (aka bare root) overnight and plant the next day.

quote:
bulbs
I live in the Northeast so I put them in now for spring bloom. Mine are already in.

-
 -

HAPPY BIRTHDAY CINDY!!!!!!!
by weezie13 on October 18, 2004 05:13 AM
Hi Sami!!!
I dont' know about some, but had to put my 2 cents in about
quote: