The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Need some help starting out!

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: need some help please| Next thread: need some help w/ my coleus »
Back to Thread index
by lynseelu20 on April 03, 2006 02:44 AM
Hello! I am a newbie to the gardening world. I am currently living in a small apartment in Duluth, MN and would like to start a container garden. I do have a small patio that faces west. I am interested in growing tomatoes, peppers, garlic, and some other herbs. I have been researching container gardens on line but it is all a bit confusing. I know that this site is full of experienced gardeners and I would enjoy any help possible! I am very excited to start this new hobby and already cannot wait to get an actual garden. What kind of suggestions can you help me out with to start my container garden.

*LynseeLu*
by Deborah L. on April 03, 2006 03:23 AM
Hi Lynseelu,
You've made some good choices for your container garden. I've been a container gardener for years.
You can grow just about anything in pots, as long as the size is right for the full grown plant.
ALWAYS invest in good potting soil !
I'm a bit concerned about your west-facing patio-do you get any southern exposure?
Best of luck and happy gardening ! [thumb]

-
 -
by lynseelu20 on April 03, 2006 03:37 AM
Thanks Deborah,

I do in fact have some south facing space on my patio. Will that be ok for growing things?

*LynseeLu*
by Deborah L. on April 03, 2006 05:37 AM
It's a much brighter picture, ha ha, that you have some southern exposure.
You have the same exposure that my patio has. What annoys me no end is having to drag containers around to get the best of the sun. My patio is very large, about 50 feet long, but it still has its challenges sun-wise.
You can grow fuschias and other flowers that like shade too.

-
 -