The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

pumpkin problems

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: pumpkin problems!!!!!| Next thread: Pumpkin Question??? »
Back to Thread index
by sibyl on October 03, 2006 11:11 AM
ive been tring to grow pumpkins for the past 3 years,and its the same every year, the start out so nice, flower, then die [Eek!] i water in early morning, and weed. any idea why they keep dieing off? im gonna keep trying, cause one day i will have my charlie brown pumpkin patch [grin]

-
 -
by johnCT on October 03, 2006 07:43 PM
What keeps dying off? The flowers or the entire vine? Or is it an issue of the female flowers getting pollinated?

John - Zone 6
by sibyl on October 03, 2006 07:53 PM
jonn
the entire vine. i have bees galore so the flower should be betting pollinated,

-
 -
by dano1252 on October 06, 2006 08:26 AM
I've never had a lot of success with pumpkin. It was either too much water causing stem rot or the grubs would get into the stem. I'm now done with year 1 and will complete year 2 of the milky spore treatment, next year. That should take care of the grubs for at least 15 years.With any luck we will have pumpkins next year (and squash etc.)!

Theres never enough time to do it right but always enough time to do it over.
by Deborah L. on October 06, 2006 10:09 AM
Why do commercial growers have such crops? Poisons? And huge amounts, no doubt. Ugh.
I know this sounds like a super dumb question, but I do wonder why we home gardeners have so many problems.

-
 -
by LandOfOz on October 06, 2006 10:20 AM
Does the vine suddenly wilt and then die? If so it may be due to a bug called a squash vine borer. It bores into the stem of the plant and eats it. It killed off all of my zucchini, squash, and pumpkins this year.

-
Sarah - Zone 5b/6
 -
by sibyl on October 08, 2006 01:25 PM