The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Question 4 PAR_Gardener

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by nmlAlba-dC15 on May 15, 2006 06:12 PM
Hi PAR_Gardener...
i remember reading your excellent expanation abt using chemical fertilizer..Miracle Grow??... i wonder what do u think of foliar feed? For example foliar feed 4 orchids to coax/encourage flowering... n what about black fertilizer pellets that da manufacturer claim s organic.. smells a little bit like coffee..dunno if u have this kind of fert at your place...??
TQ 4 whatever info/tips u share.. [wavey]

-
i believe that somewhere in da darkest night...a candle glows,
i believe for every drop of rain that falls...a flower grows....
by PAR_Gardener on May 16, 2006 06:45 PM
Let me start by saying that I'm no expert. I've just done a lot of reading, and I have an opinion. So here I go back on the soap box... I apologize about the length up front.

As far as foliar sprays go, the theory is that leaves respire/breath. Because they have pores, they can absorb nutrients/fertilizer like roots can. Foliar sprays are supposed to get needed nutrients to the upper part of the plants faster than going from the root up the stem to the rest of the plant. That's the theory.

Does it work? I can't endorse or object to it. I've bought several foliar sprays. I just haven't gotten around to using them as much as I planned on, and I haven't done any experiments to see if they do make a difference. At a minimum, even if the theory isn't quite right, you're putting fertilizer on the plant that will probably drip off during application or wash off during rain. That "run-off" will eventually make it's way into the soil and into the plant.