The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

tea rose john f kennedy

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
« Prev thread: Tea Garden Colors| Next thread: Tea Rose needs to move... »
Back to Thread index
by sibyl on May 09, 2004 11:27 PM
i just got a tea rose for mothers day!!!ive never owned a tea rose before,so any advice would be great!

-
 -
by shamarian on May 10, 2004 05:07 AM
Sibyl, I have a John F Kennedy rose too [pure white] and I bought it because it is one of the strongest smelling roses. But I'm not a rose expert, just beginning myself, but it DID make it over the winter [Wink] I will leave our other experts help you with the rest, Happy Mothers Day!

I am old, and repotting wont help!
by Ronni on May 11, 2004 01:55 PM
Sibyl,

I got a tea rose for Mother's Day some years back. I didn't have any gardening experience then, so just kept it by a window and watered it now and then.

A friend suggested I plant it in the garden. That hadn't even occurred to me, but her suggestion is what began my interest in gardening. What little garden space I had was overgrown with weeds, so I just cleared out a little spot, dug a hole, and unceremoniously jammed that poor little rose bush in the hole! Surprisingly, it flourished. Even more surprisingly, it came back the next year, and every year since.

I replanted it twice. It still survived. None of my garden received much sun, but still it thrived, even bloomed! Recently I've moved to a different house, and one of the few plants I took with me was that rose. I've replanted it yet again, and it was looking very puny, many of the leaves withered and died, but just in the last couple days I detected a few new green leaves sprouting.