The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

basil pruning

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
« Prev thread: Basil flowers| Next thread: basil seedlings »
Back to Thread index
by tkhooper on March 09, 2005 06:23 PM
Hi all

I am a beginner gardener with an indoor herb garden in my windows, and my dinning room table and everywhere else i can set a pot. The basil has been with me a year and is huge. It has evidently decided that it is the growing season and i have flowers everywhere. From reading the basil chats i see i have overwatered and over fertilized a huge amount. now i am very affraid to prune. What should i do and how please? I don't want to kill it, it feels like a member of the family. And is it really an annual?

-
 -
by obywan59 on March 09, 2005 06:56 PM
Welcome tkhooper, I'm from Virginia also, about 20 miles south of Roanoke.

I've read to pinch all the tips of your basil shoots when they reach about 6 inches in length. This will prevent the flower shoots from developing and will put more energy into growing new leaves.

It sounds like your flower shoots are well developed though, so you may have to use a scissors or hand pruners to cut them off.

-
Terry

May the force be with you
by tkhooper on March 09, 2005 07:50 PM
Thankyou Terry,

I'll serilize my knife and get right on it. I hope the basil is still talking to me after this. Poor thing has been very patient with me.

-
 -
by Elfinone on March 09, 2005 10:09 PM
when I clip mine I wait to see the new shoot split, then I take out the center one. I do this early in the morning when I have my herb garden growing outside. I get tons of it to dry and give away.
[Wink]
by tkhooper on March 10, 2005 02:49 PM
Hi Eli

I did it at night i hope that won't be a problem. And thankyou for responding to my message.

-
 -
by weezie13 on March 10, 2005 05:02 PM
TK,