The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

strawberries

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
« Prev thread: Strawberries| Next thread: Strawberries & birds!!!!!!! »
Back to Thread index
by Carla on March 15, 2005 07:25 AM
I planted strawberry plants for the first time this past weekend. I put the June-bearning ones in one draining pot and the ever-bearing ones in another pot.

I've read that strawberries are prone to viruses and root rot but that they also need to be watered regularly.

I've got 2 questions:

How often should strawberries )especially those in containers) be watered?

Is there any product out there to put on the plants to prevent bugs or viruses? (I've already sprayed insecticidal soap on them but I'm not sure if that's good enough.

Thanks.
by Longy on March 16, 2005 09:00 PM
Hey Carla, i'm no strawberry expert but i reckon as long as the growing medium you're using drains well you should be right for root rot. Don't leave the pots in saucers that hold water for extended periods. Water the plants when the surface dries out to a depth of 1/2 an inch. Water in the mornings as fungal problems tend to spread at night when the plants are wet. To keep fungal probs off the plants, trim any dead leaves and put a bit of clean straw or similar around the plants to keep them off the soil. Esp the fruit. It also keeps the fruit clean which makes for better picking and eating. Liquid fertilise at half strength fortnightly.