The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

dracaena marginata needs help!

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
« Prev thread: Dracaena Marginata| Next thread: Dracaena NOT Scheflerra-so sorry! »
Back to Thread index
by Connie_d on April 22, 2004 04:57 PM
I have had a dracaena for a few years now, and its health ha s steadily gotten worse. there were originally 3 stems (trunks??) in the pot, but 2 have since died.
The remaining one is aout 6 feet tall. the leaves are drooping terribly, and it just looks very unhappy.
I have been told that i can chop off the top of the stem, stick it in some dirt and it will grow. Also that as long as the roots are not rotted, they will produce a new growth too. Is this true?
Does anyone have any simple tips? I am new to gardening etc., and kind of dumb about it yet.
by obywan59 on April 22, 2004 06:04 PM
Dracaenas like to be evenly moist most of the year except in winter when you can allow them to dry somewhat between waterings. They like it if you cn provide extra humidity.

Being such a big plant, I wonder if the center of the rootball might have completely dried out. If it has, even though you water thoroughly from the top till water runs out the bottom, the center will still be dry. I'd take it out of the pot to check.

If you decide that might be the problem, the remedy is to allow it to set in water for a while. The rootball will then gradually soak up the water. Keep adding water, until no more can be soaked up, (watch the level of water in the dish) then dump the rest of the water out of the pot and resume watering as needed.

-
Terry

May the force be with you
by Connie_d on April 22, 2004 11:33 PM
quote:
Originally posted by obywan59:
Dracaenas like to be evenly moist most of the year except in winter when you can allow them to dry somewhat between waterings. They like it if you cn provide extra humidity.