The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Humidity

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
« Prev thread: Humidity| Next thread: Humidity »
Back to Thread index
by minnycourt on April 03, 2004 01:22 AM
Hi I am new to house plants. I have been reading this site and found out that misting plants doesn’t provide adequate humidity. I live in Arizona so humidity is very low here. I believe I read that I should put out trays of water and something about having rocks in them?? I currently have all my plants in new pots on the fireplace mantle so that my kitty wont eat them. There is not a lot of room left up there. (5 plants all new.. first month at attempting to grow plants). If I should put trays of water how many do they need? And do all plants need humidity to grow? This is what I have above my fireplace. I did some reading and I learned these are good for people starting out.

Dumb Cane
Schefflera
Peperomia
Peace lilly
Lucky Bamboo.

Any suggestions on special care or tips for successful growing would be most helpful.

Thanks everyone..

I will post pictures as they get bigger..(hopefully)

Minnycourt

What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us.
by Jiffymouse on April 03, 2004 04:14 AM
hi minnycourt [wayey] about the trays of water. the point about the tray of water with pebbles or rocks is this:
a tray of water under the plant provides humidity by having the water evaporate around the plant, thereby increasing the humidity in the immediate vicinity of the plant. trays under plants should have pebbles or rocks in them only to provide support for the plant so that it isn't sitting directly in the water which can cause root root.