The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Easy to sprout flowers

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Easy to move?| Next thread: easy turkey salad »
Back to Thread index
by Suflower33 on September 02, 2006 02:28 PM
I am a teacher and am planning on growing flowers with my class. What is an easy flower to grow from seeds? [flower] [flower] [flower]

Thanks,

Monique
by weezie13 on September 02, 2006 03:14 PM
Marigolds.. [flower]
You can't go wrong with them..
And Cosmos'... [flower]
Very easy to grow...
And Sunflowers [flower]
Always fun for the kids..

What age are your kids you teach??

Weezie

Don't forget to be kind to strangers. For some who have
done this have entertained angels without realizing it.
- Bible - Hebrews 13:2

-
 -
 -

http://photobucket.com/albums/y250/weezie13/
by kennyso on September 02, 2006 03:20 PM
When I was small we always tried beans...not really a flower but I remember I did get to eat like two beans from my plant. Maybe you could try sweetpeas (the ornamental type) This is copied from a site found with google

'Easy-to-grow' plants for all ages:

Beans

Large fast-germinating seeds. Pole beans twine up on a simple support; a teepee made of bamboo poles is fine. 'Scarlet Runner' beans have showy flowers and edible pods. For best edible beans plant Blue Lake, Derby, Romano, Pencil Wax. The old variety Kentucky Wonder does not perform well in hot summers, so it's not a good choice here. For gourmet appetites, try Asparagus (Yardlong) beans.

Borage

Small seeds, incredibly easy to grow, and reseeds merrily around your garden. The leaves smell like cucumber and are edible. The sky blue flowers are interesting and pretty, and useful for drawing bees into the garden.

Cosmos