The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Pole Beans in a hanging basket??????

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: pole beans| Next thread: pole beans in a pot »
Back to Thread index
by beebiz on January 21, 2006 08:22 AM
Hey all,

I guess you are all going to think that I'm crazy (and pretty much am) but, I've got a question. My wife wants a hanging plant in front of a window in our living room. As I was talking about how I wished I could start a few pole beans, whe asked me what I thought about starting a couple in a hanging basket. The basket that we have in mind is about 1 gallon or so. So, I believe that it would be big enough. I'm new to the container gardening with veggies idea though so, I don't know if the beans would do okay trailing down rather than running up!

Any input would be appreciated.

Robert

My New Web Site If you take a look, please sign my guest book so I'll know you've been there! Also, check out the new African Violet addition to my site! Thanks
by Wizzard on January 21, 2006 10:12 PM
they will naturaly try to go up (towards the light) but i dont see any reason you couldnt make them go down. i think it sounds like a great idea. if you decide to try it, let us all know how it goes.
and good luck

Wizzards pics
by beebiz on January 22, 2006 02:48 AM
Hey Wizzard,

What you said was pretty much what I was thinking. I just thought it might cause the blood to rush to their heads and damage their brains!! Just kidding. When my wife first mentioned it, I said, "you don't want BEANS growing in a hanging flower basket, do you?!?!" [Big Grin] [Roll Eyes] [thinker] [dunno] But, the more I thought about it, the more I thought they would probably look kind of neat!

I'm sure I'm gonna give it a try. I'll let you guys know how it turns out!