The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

pole beans in a pot

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by Wizzard on January 07, 2006 12:54 PM
about a month ago i started 2 pole beans. i planted them in a 14 inch pot. before i put the soil in the pot, i used some bamboo i had lying around to make a trellis type think that goes to the bottom of the pot. wrapped it in a spiral fashion with hemp.
so, the basic point of this topic (if there is one) is that i had no idea pole beans grew so fast. i only started the seeds a month ago, and if they were stretched out they would be about a foot and a half tall already. this is my first time with beans. im amazed. i will try to get some pics uploaded some time.

and speaking of fast. i started my first amaranth about a week ago, they were sprouted in 2 days. thats one of the best sprouting times i have ever had.

ok, enough rambling about my meager indoor garden. im just bored [sleepy]

Wizzards pics
by tkhooper on January 07, 2006 05:11 PM
congrats on the pole beans. It sounds like you gave them just what they wanted.

-
 -
by weezie13 on January 08, 2006 08:06 AM
Wizzard,
Did you know you could put a 6ft pole
and they'd grow that high and beyond......

I think I just read, in one of the catalogs
I just got in the mail, once they reach that high, you can cut off or snip the top or leader off and that will promote side or lateral shoots??

Might try that, if it gets too tall for you?????

I've never grown them before...but I did just read it..

Also, a bit of [teacher] [critic] is that if you plant something else with them that is a nitrogen loving plant... *cause beans put alot of nitrogen back into the soil* you will have two happy plants.
Some examples of good companion plants for Pole Beans are....
Radish, Carrots, Cucumber, Eggplant, Lettuce, Pea, and Corn....