The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Can you tell me what your favorite HOT pepper/chili is?

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by lakegran on August 07, 2006 12:52 AM
[teacher] [wavey] Peppereater and Christina , everyone!!!!
Tell me what is your favorite hot pepper and why.
I had some last year that I dearly loved, but being a newbie, I didn't pay any attention to the name of the pepper. I liked it because it was very small, very hot, came on pretty early in the season, the plants were very hearty, and healthy, never seemed to need 'special' care. As I harvested them , a few each day from each plant, I just popped what I wasn't using into a ziplok bag, and put them into the freezer as... is. They lasted all winter, and I used them several times a week. The heat was somewhere between a jalapeno and a serrano. [Confused] [wavey]

-
by ChristinaC on August 07, 2006 02:06 AM
quote:
I just popped what I wasn't using into a ziplok bag, and put them into the freezer as... is. They lasted all winter, and I used them several times a week.
That's exactly what I do with mine...then I slice them in half and just let them simmer in soups, stews, sauces, stir-frys..anything really. And I STILL run out before winter is even over!
Did this pepper look like a chili or more so like an jalapeno?
Here's a great link showing many varieties of hot peppers. Maybe you'll find your pepper here. Let us know which kind it was. [thumb]

hot pepper varieties

-
 -
by ChristinaC on August 07, 2006 02:08 AM
Oh...BTW..my favourite hot pepper is the Thai Chili...and simply because I love the heatness of it as well as the flavour. They're much smaller than the Kung Pao, Cayenne, etc..but I find them hotter. Oh yum...It's only 9am and I'm already cravin' a hot pepper. [Mad] [Big Grin]

-
 -
by lakegran on August 07, 2006 12:07 PM