The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Got Watermelons?

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Got this mixed veg plants| Next thread: Gourmet Reindeer Poops »
Back to Thread index
by MrClint on July 07, 2006 10:07 AM
This is my first year growing watermelons. What started out as a 1/2 day planting project to share with my youngest daughter, has now evolved into a wonderful conversation piece for visitors. It is amazing how easy they are, how long the vines get, and how fast they grow.

Here's a pic of one of my hills and one of the wee melons:

-

-

Anybody else growing watermelons?

According to my calculations, the problem doesn't exist.
by DeepCreekLake on July 07, 2006 10:49 AM
I am growing Sugar Babys, Crimsons Sweets, Charlston Greys, and Moon and Stars, mine have been very slow to get going, I transplanted around Memorial weekend, there just now getting in gear. I think the temps have being cooler than normal had slowed them down. The moon & stars, have pretty cool foliage, they are full of yellow "spots" like the melons get which are the stars.Yours looks good. Is that a gourd you are growing nearby too?
by MrClint on July 07, 2006 11:22 AM
Cool, I'm thinking of planting Crimson Sweets and/or Moon and Stars next year. Think I'm hooked? [Wink]

Yeah, the weather here has been blast furnace hot! That's got to be why the melons are going bonkers right now.

The other plant in the lower left corner of the bottom pic is a volunteer that sprung from the compost hill. My best guess is that it's a muskmelon of some kind. It has a small fruit on it, guess I'll know better when it starts to take shape.

In the upper right corner is a Big Beef tomato sucker that I planted, and the little wet spot in the upper left corner is a Spacemaster cuke. Given enough free time I will always "shoehorn" in a plant here and there. [Smile]