The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Orange mushrooms - HELP PLEASE:eek:

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
by dragonflygirl on September 06, 2004 03:40 PM
Hi! This is my first time on ANY forum so I hope I'm doing this right [dunno] [Smile] We have nasty mushrooms growing out of control under our beautiful crepe myrtle tree (and surrounding area). They are long, conical red-orange stalks with dark brown narrow caps (and a little orange dot at the tip)...I've already dug them out once...then 1 returned and in a few days they had MULTIPLED!!! [shocked] Sometimes they bring tons of flies (other times not) and sometimes they die on their own (other times not). I'm worried for the tree [scaredy] Any info would be GREATLY appreciated - Thanks alot! [Smile]
by Jiffymouse on September 06, 2004 04:08 PM
hi dragon fly girl... welcome to the garden helper! and yes, you did it right...

about your mushrooms... i am not the most experienced gardener around here, but the way i have "successfully" handled mushrooms in the past the following:

a) improve the drainage around the area... mushrooms like it moist.

b) when i would see them, rather than dig them, i made a twice daily trip outside with heavy shoes on and smooshed them. sounds funny, but that way, the spores didn't get a chance to mature and i didn't accidentally spread them when i dug them up.

that's about all i know, however, there are more knowlegable folks on here, maybe someone else will have a more proven and practical method of dealing with them.
by Arctostaphylos on September 06, 2004 08:06 PM