The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

irritating and/or invasive plants

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Iron railing ideas?| Next thread: Is a "mess" of squash »
Back to Thread index
by Mrs.Spud on May 11, 2006 09:51 AM
being a newbie I'm really not sure what is irritating and invasive.

I have heard snow-in-summer is invasive, I have 4 small seedlings and I don't know if I want to plant them. I just planted horseradish out in my garden, but planted it in a buried container with drainage holes.

How about columbine and purple cone flower?

Iris?

I really want a trumpet vine but I KNOW they can do some major property damage.

and bee balm. I'm very interested in hummingbird gardening.

your opinions on irritating and invasive plants?

Mrs.Spud: Idaho Mom
by loz on May 11, 2006 10:05 AM
quote:
I really want a trumpet vine but I KNOW they can do some major property damage.

I'd just like to say that my first year gardening I ordered a trumpet vine not knowing how invasive it was....Well when it got here it was totally dead...and I was sort of happy about it! [Big Grin]
by joclyn on May 11, 2006 12:06 PM
purple cone flowers can self seed (you can also bury the seed heads). they also will multiple from the root. they're really nice and they're very hardy. they do spread out - i wouldn't consider them to be invasive tho.

mine didn't spread out too well. one because i planted them too close together and two because i planted day lily right next to them and they got crowded. i just got done splitting them out and moved them - so now they have good breathing room and should start spreading.