The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

How to: Kill Elephant Ears

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: How to...Roses| Next thread: How To "Twine" a Jasmine »
Back to Thread index
by Tex on April 25, 2006 02:18 PM
Given I know many people are trying to let these plants thrive I find them a nuisance and I am trying to seek out the best method for eliminating them. I am posting a link to a picture so you can see the size of the elephant ears I am dealing with. I would say they are well-established, but again I am a novice, so what do I really know.

Regardless, I am looking for the easiest method to completely destroy all of the ears as well as eliminate future seeds from sprouting.

I look forward to hearing your responses.

A picture of my Elephant Ears

Not much of a green thumb, but I try.
by porter57 on April 25, 2006 02:59 PM
man those are beautiful
but up here we gotta dig em up or lose em
same way with banana plants
i dont really know for sure but im thinkin you will have to dig up the entire area and get every trace of thier bulbs out of there.
and from what i understand,some of thier bulbs judging from the size of your plants will be huge. im not much on chemicals because they dont discriminate between what you want to keep and what you want to get rid of. i wonder if there might be a comercial source willing to come and dig them out to harvest the bulbs?
larger bulbs sell for over $10 here in st louis.
good luck to you ,man looks like a big chore to me!!!!
by Tex on April 26, 2006 07:23 AM