The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

dieffenbachia trauma

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
« Prev thread: Dieffenbachia Plant| Next thread: dieffenbachias »
Back to Thread index
by ferroworks on March 25, 2004 09:29 AM
i am a new gardener, and admit to many mistakes.....

i'm a fairly decent researcher, but cannot determine what to do about my damaged dieffenbachia camille.

It was grown in its original plastic pot for about 2 and a half years untill I repotted it in another plastic pot one size larger (5") where it stayed for another year. Most of the time it was overwatered, i think, but i paid just enough careful attention to it, to keep it healthy and growing.

About a month ago, I repotted it again (why did i do that?) into a 6" plastic (why did i do that?) pot, but not before drenching the poor guy in Schultz Expert Gardener Insect Spray, which claims effective on spider mites, my poor camille's pests. I don't think I should have repotted it in the first place, much less after an intense dosage of pesticide. The stuff said it was made from Chrysanthemum flowers, and that it is for foliage plants, so I figured I was good. In addition, I added a half teaspoon of Miracle Grow All Purpose Plant Food (15-30-15) to a gallon of water, and watered it 2 weeks ago, it's second watering in the month since repotting.

Now, the leaves are getting dry, tips yellowing, no new growth, and I'm wondering if it's time to cut the cane way back, get it back to it's last pot (5") and hope for the best, or if there is something else I can do.

Up untill recently, it was my healthiest plant, now I think it's the sickest.

I think there are a variety of causes to the problem that may be going on, but have no idea what to do about it.

Thanks for any advice!

Jamie
by Jiffymouse on March 25, 2004 04:18 PM