The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

This may sound like a dumb question but...

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by chermoni on July 30, 2006 12:52 PM
There are a few people, I've noticed, that have mentioned zones. I new to gardening, mostly I just have house plants but am looking to expand to outdoors by next year. What does zone 6 or zone anything mean? Is it something I need to know about before I start on outdoor gardening next year? Particularly for shade plants? Thank you and I appologize for being so naive, but like I said, I'm a beginner. [Embarrassed]

-
 -

Cheryl's Photobucket
My journal

Yesterday is history, tomorrow's a mystery. Today is a gift, that's why it's called the present.
by afgreyparrot on July 30, 2006 12:59 PM
Zones

This will explain it better than I can! [Embarrassed] [Big Grin]

-
 -
 -
Buckle up! It makes it harder for the aliens to suck you out of your car!
by johnCT on August 01, 2006 01:31 AM
Beginners can't possibly be naive. No problem. You should definitely make a note of the zone you're in. I believe it's 7 or 8 in Seattle. This will come in handy when you would like to know wether or not a plant can make it through the winter in your garden. The higher the number, the more milder the winters are.

John - Zone 6
by tkhooper on August 01, 2006 03:51 AM
Your not 7 or 8 in Seattle more like 5. Where do you live in Seattle. My Dad is in Lake City.

Anyway there are lots and lots of plants you can use in the shade. But before you start buying anything you need to do a soil test. That will tell you what your soil is like. If you have any evergreens in your yard or that overhang your yard you may have an acid soil that needs to be addressed either by using acid loving plants in your garden or by adjusting your soil with lime.