The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

forsythia fears

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: forsythia don't bloom| Next thread: Forsythia is looking odd... »
Back to Thread index
by kid on April 10, 2006 01:27 PM
hello,

i'm a newbie. i have a question that comes with a bit of a back story. so here it goes...

last year, on the property line of my family's house, a row of about 10 forsythia bushes (10ft tall) were cut down 4 to 8 inches above the ground. nothing but stumps. it was done because of septic problems during heavy rains. my father ordered the bushes cut down out of speculation. we had the county come out and check it and they said the bushes weren't the problem at all. so at the behest of my mother (who loved the bushes as natural fence) i have a few questions.

are the bushes dead? i'm guessing there's no chance of saving them. is there a way to accelerate their decomposition or is digging them out the only way to clear them? can i plant some younger bushes next to them and hope they grow and replace the old ones (without removing the old stumps)? there are power lines along the border so i'm looking for the easiest solution.

any help would be GREATLY appreciated. thanks!

john
by obywan59 on April 10, 2006 01:46 PM
I doubt very much if they are dead. Forsythia are notoriously hard to kill. I'm thinking you will soon see signs of new growth, and they will probably come back better and stronger than ever.

-
Terry

May the force be with you
by weezie13 on April 10, 2006 08:36 PM
Yep, I agree with Terry...
Those bushes are very hard to kill!!!

What time of year were they cut down?

You should see some spring growth soon!!!

Weezie

Don't forget to be kind to strangers. For some who have
done this have entertained angels without realizing it.
- Bible - Hebrews 13:2

-
 -
 -

http://photobucket.com/albums/y250/weezie13/