The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Confused about Black Spot or Brown Spot on Roses

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Confused - Day Neutral??| Next thread: Confused about my Seeds »
Back to Thread index
by Southern Gardener on May 06, 2006 09:14 AM
I am very new to growing roses so please forgive my ignorance.

I have a rose bush I planted last summer, it is an old variety named "Christopher Marlowe."

I have been reading many of the posts in the forum concerning Black Spot and I'm not really sure if this is my rose's problem... As soon as the new growth began this spring many of the leaves emerged with spots- I think they are brown spots. Is this just a stage of "Black Spot?" The spots don't appear to be any kind of mold- they don't rub off.

Also many of the new leaves are a pale yellow- with the spots.

The bush seems healthy- loaded with buds.

I went out and picked off as many of the spotted leaves as I could find and threw them away.

My worry is that I will treat it for a fungus and that's not its problem. So before I treat it in any way I wanted some advice on what I should try.

We live in the central part of Virginia- and humidity is already a problem here so I kind of lean towards the fungus (fungi), but then the yellow leaves make me think low iron(?)- or maybe both are a problem! [dunno]

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Sandy
by RugbyHukr on May 06, 2006 10:20 AM
you probably have a variety of mineral deficiencies, low zinc & copper can contribute to your conditions.

fertilize w/ rose food each year before growth

-
I love the sweet scents wafting in the breeze. I stop to admire the vibrant colors of all living things. And people think me odd. Then ODD I am!!!

http://community.webshots.com/user/flugnash
by joclyn on May 06, 2006 10:29 AM
yes, fertilize with a good brand each year.