The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Compost coffee filters and tea bags, Burmuda?

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Compost bins are expensive!!| Next thread: Compost for dummies? »
Back to Thread index
by catlover on April 16, 2003 05:58 AM
I am new to composting but with all my granite soil I have to do something. I have 26 liquid amber trees and 6 birch that the leaves all come off at the same time. My green source would be cuttings of my Burmuda grass. Would I just be planting (Heaven forbid) more Burmuda grass or should I find another green source? Should coffee filters and the tea bags themselves be added to the compost pile? Should I use pine needles in compost pile? What do you think of these tumbler decomposers? Do they really work or am I going to waste my money? I have osteoarthritis so it is sometimes hard to turn the pile with all that weight of debris (liquid gold). Have a source of horse manure also. If anyone knows info. about any of these things it would be greatly appreciated. Karen

-
 -
 -
by weezie13 on April 21, 2003 05:28 AM