The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

newbie gardener wants an indoor herb garden

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: NEWBIE - VENUS FLY TRAPS| Next thread: Newbie Here! »
Back to Thread index
by rubberbandman on February 26, 2006 11:04 AM
I know nothing about herbs but for some reason I really really want to grow some. I have a few questions. First do I suspend them in the air or just put them in a plain old pot? What herb(s) should I grow? What are the easiest to grow in zone 6? And which herbs are the hardest to kill? Any help will be appriciated.

-
people tell me I have the body of a god... too bad its buddah.
by comfrey on February 26, 2006 12:58 PM
Grow them in pots, they will need light either from a window that gets direct sun or under lights. Basil, Sage, Oregano all will grow nicely in pots and are very hardy. There are many others also and I am sure someone else will suggest those. I recommend you do not use potting soil that has added plant food for indoor herbs, the reason I say this is that they will grow to fast and if they are not receiving enough light then they will become leggy (thin stem & small leaves or spindly) It is better to feed them occasionally when you water, If you plan to use these herbs.. remember anything that goes into the pot is absorbed by the plant therefore, If you eat it you are absorbing it also. Be sure to ask all the questions you want, as that is how we all learn and never give up!!!! Oh one more thing be careful to NOT over water.

-
 -
by rubberbandman on February 26, 2006 10:24 PM
thanks for all your help

-
by rubberbandman on February 27, 2006 03:02 AM
another question. Should I buy seeds or if I can should I buy already growing plants?

-
by tkhooper on February 27, 2006 11:48 PM