The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

How to grow celery...???

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: how to grow an aloe vera plant| Next thread: How to grow mint »
Back to Thread index
by badplanter on July 09, 2006 08:41 AM
hi every1, its me again...i have a question about celery--How do you grow it? i bought some baby stalks and transplanted them into my garden a little while ago(7/8/06 2:30pm EST). I gave them water but i don't know what to do from there--this is my first year growing it, so i'm new to the whole "celery" business. I got them real cheap, too--4 baby stalks for only $1!!! it was a good deal, so i said "what the heck", not knowing how to grow them. If any1 here knows how to............... Thanks

-
 -
 -  - "I don't want no more of army life, gee mom, I wanna go, but they won't let me go, gee mom, I wanna go home!" My PB!
by Longy on July 09, 2006 09:03 AM
Grow them like lettuces. Lots of water, liquid fert regularly and mulch and to keep the stems white (blanched) you can put a container around them to keep the sun off.

-
The secret is the soil.
by Deborah L. on July 09, 2006 09:46 AM
Longy, keep the sun off? You mean celery likes shade?
I'm still planning to root a celery bottom for fun.
I have one today to try it out in a saucer of water.
Badplanter, what a deal-I'd have grabbed those too !

-
 -
by Longy on July 09, 2006 09:57 AM
keep the sun off? You mean celery likes shade
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
No, they like full sun....
Now i'll try and explain myself a little better:-)