The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

aphids. . .

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Aphids?| Next thread: Aphids »
Back to Thread index
by Danno on June 10, 2006 08:54 AM
are they airborne? I put out some hanging flower baskets the other week and voila aphids galore on one plant (theyre purple/white pansies). and i mean ALL OVER! This is in teh front of my yard, and in the backyard (only a mere 60' away) is my preciouse! (SMEAGUL!!!)

Do i risk having aphids in my garden? I plan on putting Seven on all my flowering plants (roses, baskets out front) But on my garden will be trying to find some garlic barrier or in extreme, use dish soap/water solution.

once again. . .a are they airborne?
by 'Sparagus on June 10, 2006 02:23 PM
Danno,

Im no expert, but some of the critters that hang out on my rose bushes have wings. So Im guessing wings = airborne.

Hope they fly away soon!!

[flower]
by Longy on June 10, 2006 05:07 PM
'In spring an egg hatches, producing a wingless female aphid who soon begins parthenogenetically producing new wingless females. Generation after generation of wingless females survive one another until hot weather comes or maybe the plant on which they are living dies and then suddenly some of the females grow wings and fly off.
Though aphids look so plump and dumpy that they could never fly far, in fact they can travel hundreds of miles with the assistance of low-level jet winds.'

from here http://www.backyardnature.net/aphid_lc.htm

-
The secret is the soil.
by Danno on June 11, 2006 02:53 AM
read ur link longy. . now my question is . . will soap/water solution kill them? I dont want these pests around [Smile]
by peppereater on June 11, 2006 02:56 AM