The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Tire method for potatoes

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Tips on growing spinach| Next thread: Tire potatoes »
Back to Thread index
by cookinmom on May 28, 2006 04:33 AM
Hey!
In the "can't grow radishes club" post, someone mentioned the tire method for potatoes.

Enlighten please! What is this, and how do you do it?

[teacher]

-
Real women don't have hot flashes -- we have power surges!
by Marina on May 28, 2006 04:42 AM
LOL... that was me and we must have been posting at the same time.

I am growing my potatoes in a tire and here is how ***I**** did it (please qualify this by knowing this is my first year trying to grow anything so....)

1. Get tires (my SO is an automechanic so this was easy). I used SUV tires because they are larger.

2. Get seed potatoes ( I got red pontiac)

3. Get dirt (I used Miricle grow garden soil)

3. Cut seed potoes into pieces (I was told to leave at least an eye on each) cure in the sun for a bit (I did this for 2 days I believe)

4. Fill the tires with dirt, make sure to push the dirt into the edges of the tires.

5. Plant the seed potatoe pieces in the tire and cover with dirt (I think I planted mine 1-2 inches deep)

6. waiiiit (this was the hardest part for me!!!!)

7. In a bit leaves will start to come up. When the plants are like 8 inches tall take another tire and stack it on top of the first one. and fill it with dirt, leaving some of the leaves showing.

8. Reapeat step 3 until you have 3-5 tires (I plant to do 4).

9.When its time to get the taters you apparently can just remove one tier at a time!

Now... again I am new. If you give me a sec I will run into the yard to snap a few pictures of my tire stacks... 1 has 2 tires on it already and the other will be getting its second tire this weekend [Wink]