The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Garden plot & how to?

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Garden Planning...| Next thread: Garden pond water level? »
Back to Thread index
by Danno on April 26, 2006 04:07 PM
ok been doing a lil bit o reading as this is my first year ever of doing a garden. Didnt get to help grandpa much when i was younger, just helped him picked beans (god i hated doing that when i was little lol!)

I have a area that is 5'x18'. Putting in corn, tomatoes, cantaloupe, peppers, squash (zuchini & yellow) and cucumbers. I've done variouse reading on prepping your plot and i currently have it tilled under with a good 3" of humus/manure mix tilled in with it. the soil is clumpy & i keep it moist until i get to planting my seedlings outdoors in mid may.

My questions are these: I plan on doing most everything in small rows. corn, tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers & squash in rows. It says to plant the muskmelons in mounds wich i plan. But for the rows, i've seen people in movies (gotta love hollywood) that have like 6" deep trenches (or in essence they mound UP their plants) that go around their plants, and then they "aerate" the trench in between the plants. What is the purpose of this (if i even need to do this and why. . ) and if i do do this style, how do i water? Directly on the plants? or do i water the trenches?

Sorry for the idiot questions lol i'd rather have it right and not have my wife makin fun of me than screw up and have her tell me "your such a man!"
by Longy on April 26, 2006 11:22 PM
Mounding will help some plants which require excellent drainage or which need to grow deep, like carrots, or potatoes, but it's not absolutely necessary if the soil is light and well cultivated with planty of organic matter, as yours seems to be.