The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Rosemary A Plenty!

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
« Prev thread: Rosemary - the herb| Next thread: Rosemary question »
Back to Thread index
by firebetty on April 16, 2005 03:16 AM
Hi all. I have a pretty large rosemary shrub, that is fantastic. My only problem is figuring out how to trim it without wasting ALL that rosemary. Will it grow from a cutting? ThenI could give some to my neighbor...

We never water this plant, it just grows like mad. It clearly has been there a long time, and has acclamated to the environment well...

Please let me know what my best options are for pruning without wasting. Thanks!
Kristi

Here is a photo of it:

-
by tkhooper on April 16, 2005 04:23 AM
WOW,

I'm just a beginner so I can't answer your question. But what an amazing bush. I had no idea they could get that big.

-
 -
by 4Ruddy on April 16, 2005 09:47 AM
Prune away...you wont be wasting if you dry what you prune off. I cut my rosemary continuously and dry the cuttings...put them in the chopper and have rosemary "powder" which is wonderful in chicken & dumplings..or any chicken recipe. The dry rosemary actually has a stronger flavor...you only use half as much as fresh rosemary. Just store it in an air tight container (I use a zip lock baggie)in a fairly dark place. it lasts a long time.

-
 -

Happiness, like a dessert so sweet.
May life give you more than you can ever eat...
by firebetty on April 17, 2005 12:19 AM
Thanks Vanessa, I will definitely dry some. I read that oven drying is the best. Is there any specific temp and time limit for doing this? I usually just use it fresh. I've never dried it before.

thanks for any help!
kristi
by 4Ruddy on April 17, 2005 05:17 AM