The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

starter plants indoors?

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by treegrower1 on January 07, 2006 11:25 AM
im new to startin plants on the indoors.I would like to start some of the plants i will transplant in my outdoor garden[in april] tomatoes,sweet pepper,brocoli,etc.Do i need a heat mat for under the trays?What bout lights above the trays?If so do they need to stay on24hours a day?Also is this to early if it will be 3 months before i transplant them outdoors?
by ChristinaC on January 07, 2006 11:32 AM
Hi treegrower.
I've never used a heat mat..I put the tray on fridge where it's a little warmer..works fine. I use fluorescent lights after they sprout..the seeds don't need light to germinate. I turn my lights on when I wake up and turn them off before I go to bed...plants need sleep too. Don't leave them on 24 hours..though I've forgotten to turn my off many a times!! I'd say 3 months is a bit early. Last year because of cold weather, It was a good 3 months before I was able to get my plants in the ground and they were more than ready!!! Good luck treegrower!

Christina

-
 -
by treegrower1 on January 07, 2006 11:38 AM
ok,thanks....i"ll wait bout the first of feb. before i start them ,then tran. 2 months later
by Tamara from Minnesota on January 08, 2006 08:53 AM
I use heating pads- regular people kind- and have done so for almost 10 years. The lights should not be left on 24 hours but more like 18 so it mimics the real summer conditions. I get a timer at the hardware store where I buy lights. Buy lights (shop light with one cool fluor. and one garden light), extension cords and the timer. I have started tomatoes in March to plant the last week in May, so how long is that? Um 2 months. So wait a few weeks. Peppers can be started now though; I start those in February.