The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

growing fruit tree / plants inside

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Growing from seeds| Next thread: Growing Garlic »
Back to Thread index
by Debbie J on November 06, 2005 05:45 PM
??? please help ???

I was given a kiwi tree, a lemon tree and a raspberry bush all in pots. I live in Germany and it is very cold. i have some questions.

1) How can I best grow these tree's inside?

2) what soil is best for each plant /tree?

3) how often to water and how much)

4) sun vs. indoor light

5) when is it best to move them outside?

thank you for any information you may have. I am very new at this

Debbie
by Longy on November 07, 2005 02:16 AM
Debbie, do you know the cultivar of the kiwi fruit? Some can be grown in cold conditions and will be OK outside in the ground. They are a vine and can become quite large.

The raspberry is a deciduous cold weather plant and can be grown outside also. It will be OK to plant into the ground in spring . Prepare the soil with compost and well rotted manures. Dig it in and give a week or two to settle then plant the raspberry cane. Mulch and water well.

The lemon requires a top quality potting medium and maximum available sunlight. A bright window inside, then move outside once temperatures rise above freezing. You could move it out thru the day and bring it back in once the warmth has gone out of the sun in the afternoon in spring . A gro light will probably be necessary to keep it healthy thru winter. Regarding water, while inside, you should only water when the top of the soil is dry to a depth of a centimetre or so. If it isn't growing it won't require as much water. Once outside, water well while the plant is growing. Fertilise in spring when fresh growth appears.