The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Buying Live Herb Plants Now.

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
« Prev thread: Buying a house| Next thread: Buying new perenials... »
Back to Thread index
by Grumpy Vet on November 16, 2004 01:28 AM
Hi all. I'm trying to buy a few live herb plants to grow downstairs in my "herb garden". I'm fairly new to this and had great success w/ some plants - and not-so good w/ others. I think I've corrected a few of my errors - and would like to try again w/ some herbs I lost. The problem is I am in MD and nobody around here sells the plants.

I'd really prefer not to grow from seeds.

Specifically - I'm looking for parsley, basil, cilantro and oregano as well as others. Thanks for any links or any info on where I might find a place that sells the live herbs I can transplant into my growing area.
by weezie13 on November 17, 2004 01:58 AM
Hi Grumpy Vet,
I am not too sure if anyone sells the live plants
now, this time of year, as it's hard for them to ship to areas' that are cold...
***Like when they ship from their building, it's in possible several trucks or carriers cars to get to your mailbox, and it would almost be impossible for them to guarentee a "live" delivery with out getting frozen, stressed or hurt in the mailing/handling process at this time of year...

I get alot of things in the mail from the QVC and they ship things according to your growing zone..

Can I ask how come you don't want to start from seed????
Just curious!!

Weezie

[Cool] Love to hear all about the success's [thumb] so far and the failures and how you corrected everything [critic] ,
helps us all learn!! [teacher]

Weezie

Don't forget to be kind to strangers. For some who have
done this have entertained angels without realizing it.
- Bible - Hebrews 13:2

-
 -
 -

http://photobucket.com/albums/y250/weezie13/