The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

nuther corn ?

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
by pagarden on August 06, 2004 06:53 AM
my corn cobbs are pretty big and one of my garden pests (a neighbor actually) came over and said Hmm.... this corn looks ready and plucks it off and peels it open! there were just a few plump kernels towards the bottom. what caused that? there were no bugs i've been picking the rootworm bettles off and i think they just ended up going away. everything else is healthy. pollination? i didn't do anything by hand. there were always lots of bees buzzing around the tassles. is it just too early? how can i tell if it's ready without opening one up? some of the silks have started to brown already. this is my first time trying corn. oh- yea- it's sweet corn.
by pagarden on August 06, 2004 06:56 AM
oh- and they are pretty close together that's also why i just left the pollination to nature. i have 3 rows of corn with 6 stalks in each row. each stalk is about a foot away from another. any ideas?
by Phil and Laura on August 08, 2004 02:16 AM
Sounds like poor pollination, could have been a un-timely rain, or, overhead watering,i.e.,sprinklers? Once your corn starts sheding pollen, never water from the top, drench the roots only. You did the right thing doing three rows of six; however, that still leaves alot of room for miss-placed pollen. The middle row should be better, Probably your whole crop will not be this way, and you can get your belly full 'o' corn!
P.s. Bee's pay little to no attention to corn of any type
by BigBoy on August 10, 2004 09:39 PM