The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

To force or not to force? (Dutch Iris)

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: To cut, or not to cut| Next thread: To mint or not to mint? »
Back to Thread index
by TetonBadger on April 23, 2006 04:25 PM
Ok so keep in mind I am pretty new at this so my question might be stupid..

but...after much research I cant figure out what to do with some Dutch Irises my friend gave me, if I wanted them outside I should have planted them in novemeber right?

But then again I am in zone 3 so would they have even made it outside had I planted them?

so now I am confused, Could I plant them outside now? ( it would be in a container) would they bloom if I did, or do I have to cool them?

If I cant plant them outside then should I just enjoy them indoors in a container? do I have to refrigerate them then? how long?

Keeping them till next novemeber isint an option as I am rather transient....recent college grad.

Help!
by SpringFever on April 24, 2006 01:39 AM
bulbsI would plant it... I was just looking at the link above..
How did you store them?
I was also reading in another area and it said dutch iris hardy zone 3-8 you just need to cover them in the winter. [wavey]

-
 -
Tonight I am having friends for dinner... Hanibal Lector My Album
by SpringFever on April 24, 2006 01:44 AM
It did say you should fridge them though.. you might not get flowers this year [dunno]
I would still try... but I am crazy like that [nutz]

-
 -
by alankhart on April 24, 2006 03:13 AM