The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Lavender help - it's not looking so good

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Lavender| Next thread: Lavender turning gray »
Back to Thread index
by Av8trx on April 08, 2006 12:55 AM
This is my first attempt at photos - thanks to Mary for helping with photobucket info - THANKS! [wavey]

In my intro I explained that I recently purchased my house - 10/04. Last spring I was elated to see all the pretty flowers by the house - but I had no clue what they were. After they began flowering I could smell that some was lavender - so pretty [flower] I harvested it last year, but this year it's not looking so hot - I didn't prune it last year (didn't know I was supposed to) - so I am wondering what, if anything, should I be doing now? Some of the plant looks greyish green and alive, some looks like dead sticks with a little bit of greenish stuff - but just a little. Here are some photos to illustrate what I am trying to describe... lavender
more lavender

and more lavender

what are your thoughts?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Katie - Zone 6a
by Triss on April 08, 2006 01:44 AM
Looks like it is in need of some trimming. Personally, I would get rid of the stuff that is not doing so well and give all the green I am seeing room to grow.

-
 -
We are all under the same stars... therefore we are never far apart.
by patches1414 on April 08, 2006 01:59 AM
I would get rid of all the dead stuff (brown) and trim the rest back to where you have the new green growth starting.

patches [kitty]

-
 -
"Lord, I love you and I need you, come into my heart, and bless me, my family, my home, and my friends, in Jesus' name. Amen!"
by Av8trx on April 08, 2006 03:13 AM
Thanks Triss and Patches - I am so thankful for the info [thumb]