The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Help! with Shamrock

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
« Prev thread: Help! What are these flowers!?| Next thread: Help! Woodpecker! »
Back to Thread index
by Judith on March 22, 2004 05:14 AM
Help please with an Oxalis regnellii 'Alba' that my dear Hubby bought recently. It's in a 4" pot, and was beautiful, healthy, and blooming just days ago!

I know you can't always trust plant info on "store bought" plant markers. But it recommended sun, so I placed it in a window that was sunny at the time. It looked fine until today. Now it's all wilted and dying!

I've had some experience with houseplants, which the label said this could be. However, we have native varieties of Oxalis in our yard, lilac, with a few yellow or white ones. These do fine outside, and I let them be and enjoy them.

But we still have a bit of threat of colder weather (35º, but could go lower) this week, so I was planning to wait until next week to plant it outside.

Now, if I don't do something tomorrow, I believe I will lose it. I put it in the refrigerator for about an hour and it perked up some, but wilted again when I took it out. (This idea was based on nurseries using refrigeration for flowers to keep them fresh, and it's only ~40º.

What should I do? If it should be outside, should I plant it where the volunteer varieties seem to thrive (part shade), or will this variety need different conditions? It's sure not working inside, even for a short time.

The soil is moist, so no drying out, but could be too moist. Not soggy though.

I've always wanted to have these, but have had no success. Thought it was wrong zone. But I checked, and Ireland has the same zones we do (8-9).

Also, my hubby is terribly disappointed, as he is Irish!

H-E-L-P quick!!!!

Thanks!

Judith [Eek!] [Eek!] [dunno] [clappy] [nutz] [scaredy] [gabby]