The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

"Impatiens seeds are difficult" Fact OR Fiction

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: "HOW OUTTA CONTROL OUR GARDENS' ARE!!!"| Next thread: "Lady" Bugs »
Back to Thread index
by Drea on March 29, 2006 11:16 PM
I have been talking to quite a few people in the last couple days about my impatiens. I'm a rookie,I have never planted seeds before.lol
They have told me not to be too dis-heartened if they don't work out for me. My husband keeps telling me "Dear, they will grow, you will have LOTS of plants" (Bless his heart) [Smile]
Why do they say they are difficult? What is the crucial stage that everyone can't get past??
Thanks, Andrea
by Bestofour on March 30, 2006 07:14 AM
Maybe it's your area. I live in zone 7b and I've never had a problem with impatients. At one house I had the perfect spot. My plants got as big as shrubs. Sometimes here they come back the next year. They like the shade and regular watering. Good luck.

-
 -
 - http://www.picturetrail.com/bestofour  -
by markr on March 30, 2006 08:11 AM
Drea
i grew them a couple of years ago for the first time, and i had no problems!
for best results, germinate seeds in warm humid conditions -70-85f they should germinate in 10-21 days.
i put a clear plastic sheet over mine till they germinate, then uncover when most have sprouted.
the seeds are small, but give them a go!
good luck [thumb]

-
Mark
by dodge on March 30, 2006 08:35 AM
;O)
[grin]
LET ME ADD MY STORY.........THE PLANTS GROW WONDERFUL.......SOMEONE SHARED 10 SEEDS WITH ME , THAT SHE PURCHASED AND PAID $7.00 FOR POSTAGE.........OUT OF TEN , I HAVE ONE SEED GERMINATE......THEY BEEN IN FOR A LONG TIME TOO.
YOU PICKED A HARD ONE TO TRY.

TRY MARIGOLDS THEIR EASIER. [muggs] DODGE

-
 -
''''Those who live in the Lord Never See Each Other For The Last Time!''''