The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Kentia Palm is dying

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
« Prev thread: keikis| Next thread: Kentia palm very sick »
Back to Thread index
by reibmore on March 17, 2005 09:36 PM
Hello all. Greetings from Baltimore, MD. This is my first time visiting the site. I am in desperate need of advice. I bought a 6ft tall Kentia Palm in November. I placed it in an wide open area by a north facing window (window gets indirect morning light and afternoon light). I watered it every week with my other plants, then come to find out that I was watering it entirely too much. The leaves tips were turning yellowish-brown, then the fronds would dry up. I assumed that you had to keep the soil moist at all times, when in actuality, it should be semi-moist especially when it's not the growing season (March-Oct). I stopped watering as often and then it got spider mites on the fronds. I noticed the little webs between the fronds. I cleaned off the fronds. My plant continues to shrivel up and die. I got some growing lamps and I keep them on constantly. I got some fertilizer (10-10-10) and put it in the soil. I only water when the soil is dry....about every two weeks. I mist the fronds every morning. My plant continues to get brown. The trunks right above the soil were green, now they are light brown with black specs. I was told not to cut the fronds because the plant will thin out. I have seen new liitle fronds develop near the soil to the bottom of the tree, but nothing on top. When I bought the plant, it was thick, lush, and green, now I'm afraid that my plant is too far gone to be saved. I'm afraid that the roots may be rotted from over watering. Can my plant bounce back from this? What can I do? What am I doing wrong?
by Will Creed on March 18, 2005 05:16 AM
Hello to Baltimore!