The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Tulips and daffodils

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
by Tim's sweetie on March 20, 2005 04:48 PM
Hi all. I have been reading here for quite some time now. Have learned so much, but now I have a question.
My new hubby and I bought a new house late last spring. I have had almost a year now to see what was growing around here. In some of the beds there are quite a few tulips and daffodils.This spring only a very few are blooming, even though alot came up. My question is if they need to be divided, when or do the bulbs just get too old and need to be dug up and replaced with new ones? [dunno]
I live in the panhandle of Texas.

I am pretty new at this but already know there are several small beds that I will take everything out of and start new. There is lots of shade in the yard and the previous owners tried to plant sedum in all of the beds. It was so leggy last year. Needs more sun.

Thanks to anyone who may be able to help me.

Tim's sweetie
by Bestofour on March 21, 2005 02:23 AM
How thick are the daffs? They may need to be divided in the fall. Are you sure they aren't going to bloom? Maybe it's just too early. As far as tulips, they need to be replanted every 2 years. I don't know what happens to them but they just don't bloom right after 2 years.

-
 -
 - http://www.picturetrail.com/bestofour  -
by Tim's sweetie on March 21, 2005 03:39 AM
Bestofour, thank you for your reply. The daffs aren't very thick. They have come up in sort of clumps or groups in various places in the bed. I have had 4 blooms. The others don't seem to be producing any buds. I will wait and see. [sleepy]