The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Datura problem!

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
« Prev thread: Datura cuttings: question| Next thread: Dawn Redwood Question »
Back to Thread index
by plants 'n pots on August 01, 2004 04:58 PM
This is my first time growing datura. It was doing great - large flower buds developing and I can't wait to see my first flower! But that's the problem... just when the bud looks like it may open really soon, it breaks off!!! I don't know if there is a squirrel breaking them off, or if it's all the heavy rain we've been having of late, but this morning there were 2 more off, which makes a total of 6 large about to open buds so far - at this rate I won't get to see a single flower - waaah!

One of the ones I found today had started to spread open yesterday - it was going to be my first! [Eek!] [tears] And we DID have rain AGAIN overnight... are they getting filled up too much with water and popping off?

Any help? Suggestions?

-
 -
 - Lynne's knitting journal  -  -  -
"I'm spayed, declawed, and housebound - how's YOUR day going???"
by Bestofour on August 02, 2004 04:09 AM
Gardemom sent me some seeds and they didn't come up at all. I don't know if they're tempermental or not but it seems so.

-
 -
 - http://www.picturetrail.com/bestofour  -
by njoynit on August 05, 2004 05:14 PM
yes the seeds ARE tempermental.
I had some not sprout too..they turned black/brown.wellI DO think one seed sprouted out of 50.
I nick um.
I soak um in hot water(nuke coffee cup water 2 minutes drop seeds in)
I paper towel sprout.
I toss some where want to grow.