The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Bell Pepper problems

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
« Prev thread: Bell Pepper Problem| Next thread: Bell pepper question »
Back to Thread index
by capn on August 01, 2004 06:34 PM
Hi All,
I am a rookie gardener and am having trouble with my bell peppers. The problem is my tomato plants have blocked out all of the direct sunlight to my peppers. The peppers were beginning to flower, but now all the flowers fell off. I was thinking about transplanting my peppers and tomatos. Is this a good idea, or should I just enjoy my tomatos and learn from my mistakes on the peppers?

Thanks for the help.

Capn in P-burgh.
by Pineapple_Raye on August 01, 2004 06:55 PM
Have you give thought as to using trellis and train your vines to go that way?

BTW seeing how you are new, I hope you do know not to plant your next crop of tomatoes and peppers in the same ground as this year. You will need to wait at least 3 years. In fact no Night Shade family may be planted there for the next 3 years.
by capn on August 01, 2004 07:42 PM
I have my tomatoes in cages. my cucumbers are growing up a trelis. I didn't know that I can't plant tomatoes and peppers in the same place next year. Is there anything I can do to revitalize the soil and use the same spot to plant? I have a small yard and a small place for a garden - it's very tight.

What about transplanting the tomatoes and peppers this year? Tomatoes are doing great, but they tower over the peppers. If they traded spaces, they'd both get plenty of sun.
by Pineapple_Raye on August 01, 2004 08:19 PM
I understand now. If they are real close together I cannot help but think that some of their roots are mingled together. If that is the case and you are sure your pepper plants will not produce I would cut the pepper plants down.