The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Need help identifing bugs

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
by Chae on April 09, 2004 07:29 AM
I am new to caring for house plants and I have noticed a couple of my plants have what looks like white/yellow mold on the soil. I was looking closer at this 'mold' and saw very tiny bugs but I can't identify them. There seems to be no signs of bugs on the plants themselves.

Any ideas of they are or how to get rid of them?

Chae
by weezie13 on April 09, 2004 07:34 AM
Hi Chae, [wayey] [wayey]
Welcome to The Garden Helpers' Forum!!!

I just wanted to Welcome you and to let you know I was going to move your post to the Houseplant section, we have alooot of houseplant gardener's here and they sometimes tend to stick to that general area, and they will best to be able to help you!!!

Weezie

P.S. We have alot of Canadian gardeners here,
Stick around and check out all the old posts,
Do a FORUM SEARCH for that...
read up on the main pages of the site,
Do a GARDEN SEARCH for that, go to Recipes, Crafts and Hobbies, or check out Banter Hall to chat with the people here,
We're a nice "Cyber Community here"
And we're glad you found us!!!!

Weezie

Don't forget to be kind to strangers. For some who have
done this have entertained angels without realizing it.
- Bible - Hebrews 13:2

-
 -
 -

http://photobucket.com/albums/y250/weezie13/
by Jiffymouse on April 09, 2004 07:42 AM
[wayey] hi chae [wayey] welcome to the garden helper. the only two things i can think of are either spider mites or fungas gnat larva. if it is spider mites, you will eventually see them on the plants. soap water will kill them. if it is fungus gnats, you will see them flying soon enough. for those, after verification, i'd put aquarium peebles for "mulch" on the top of the soil.