The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Did I kill my palm plant?

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by David31 on July 04, 2006 04:47 PM
Hi,
I'm very new to gardening of any kind, so please bear with me.... I have a palm plant, and it really wasn't doing well. Almost everytime a new frond (is that the right word?) opened up, the previous one would be getting brown and crinkly. The plant kept growing, but it looked ridiculous because I had this tall stalk with practically nothing on it (since I kept having to cut off the crinkled, brown fronds.)

So, first question is-- Does anyone know what causes this to happen to a palm plant? It was really thriving in its previous home, but ever since I got it, its been doing lousy, with its leaves getting brown very quickly. I give it a good watering every week, complete with plant food, and it gets a decent amount of light in my living room.

Second question-- out of desperation, and under the assumption that the plant was a goner anyway, I took a chance and followed the advice of a friend: I chopped off the whole top of the palm plant, so I am now left with just a little stalk sticking up out of the soil. Did I just kill my plant, or will it start growing again (as my friend said it might) assuming I keep watering it?

Thank you very much for any help you can offer!
by badplanter on July 04, 2006 05:59 PM