The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Need help with my Anthurium!

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by Millabit on April 06, 2006 03:42 PM
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this and not a very experienced gardener, but I really hope someone can help.

I was given a potted Anthurium about a month ago. It looked pretty good, apart from a few of the leaves being a bit brown and dry looking at the tips. It had several glossy flowers, and loads of leaves, so I didn't think it was a serious problem. So I nipped off the brown leaves, repotted it in regular peaty potting soil and put it on our balcony. Having done a little research I realise that was probably a mistake, as the balcony gets sun from midday right through the evening (I live in Southern Spain, so we get a fair amount of sun).

The leaves have progressively grown browner, and the now the flowers are also browning. New leaves that are appearing are also browning. Initially the leaves just turn brown but after a week or so they start to shrivel up as well. The brown patches are dry to the touch and do not rub off.

I do not think I am overwatering.

Thinking that the problem might be contagious I have isolated the plant, and it now only receives indirect daylight. However, the problem seems to be getting worse. My other plants are not showing any symptons.

Does anyone know what the problem could be - is it a disease?

I would really appreciate any help on this. Thanks!

Cheers,
Camilla
by margaret e. pell on April 06, 2006 09:00 PM
http://www.oglesbytc.com/culture-anthurium.html

I found this site googling around for info. Other sites with less info are more specific about VERY little to no direct sun. Hope this helps.

-

may God bless the WHOLE world!
by Millabit on April 06, 2006 09:20 PM