The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

A few questions

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
by gomerp618 on September 08, 2005 11:03 AM
Hi everyone. I have a few questions. I was roaming around the local plant retailers the other day looking for something to plant along my fence and came across some great deals. I found 3 great climbing rose bushes for $5 a piece along with some hydrangeas and azaleas for $4 a piece. My question is should I put these in the ground now and make sure I mulch good for winter? I am in Michigan. Or should I put the pots in my basement or garage and wait to plant them next spring? They are gorgeous plants and I don't want to risk them not having a chance to root well before winter and losing them. This is my first time doing my own outdoor garden and roses are something my mom never really got into so she doesn't know enough to tell me what's best.

I have some nice rose bushes in my front flower beds left by the previous owners that never received any care at all and have faired well, but they have been there for years. I even found a pot stuck along side my porch under the hedges abandoned with a rose bush in it that at first glance looked dead, but as I looked closer there is some life in that pot. I took it out of the cubby hole it was stuck in, gave it some sunlight and regular water and it looks like I may be able to salvage it. I couldn't help but think what a waste it was for the previous owners to neglect it like that, it still had the original price tag of $25 on it, why spend that kind of money and not take care of it? I don't think I am going to put it in the ground just yet as it is still pretty small, I may just put it in my basement for the winter. I have some good light in the windows of the basement and it's somewhat heated down there.

Lord, please let me be the person my dog thinks I am!