The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

pruning rose bushes

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
by becca on August 23, 2005 08:12 PM
Have a rose bush that i couldn't find the right spot to prune.It doesn't have any outward growth on 5 stocks.It looks ill what do i do with it?
by Shani on August 25, 2005 01:38 PM
Hello and welcome, I would say thin the bush out. I found with big rose bushs that once I started poking about in them I found a lot of dead wood and started but cutting it out. after that it was a matter or figuring out what shape and size I wanted the bush to be and trimming back to it.

Shani
 -
May the wind always be at your back
and your keel in the water
by Dixie Angel on August 25, 2005 09:47 PM
Welcome to the forum, becca! I am not a expert on any plant but I did want to say "hello".

Dianna

-
 -
by Bids on August 26, 2005 01:22 AM
When i first pruned a rose bush(someone elses) I was terrified that it would not reappear in the Spring, but it lived, so the next year i pruned my own and so on, You just have to do it. Roses need to be pruned so take of a the lenghths of a few buds on a branch/stick and you'll get the hang of it.

Lack of space never stopped a serious gardener.
by weezie13 on August 26, 2005 07:09 AM
Hey Becca,
Just to let you know, I'm going to move your
post into the PLANTS AND FLOWERS SECTION,
You've gotten some good response's here,
but I'm sure you'll get a few more into there..

Welcome by the way, to The Garden Helper's Forum!
We're very glad you found us..

Weezie

Don't forget to be kind to strangers. For some who have
done this have entertained angels without realizing it.
- Bible - Hebrews 13:2

-
 -
 -

http://photobucket.com/albums/y250/weezie13/
by MaryReboakly on August 26, 2005 10:05 AM