The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Looking for suggestions for a very bland wall

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Looking for suggestions| Next thread: Looking for the common name »
Back to Thread index
by Malica on August 07, 2006 06:13 PM
Anyone have any suggestions for this boring, boring back wall of my house?

-

The 'window' in the bottom left is actually just access for the house's cistern (which we don't use), so it can be covered up.

I'm looking for either suggestions for what I can do right now to break up that space, but also a bigger project for next year. Budget isn't really a worry, but my skill and time are, but feel free to suggest anything as creative as you like. I'm still pretty new to looking after a garden, so I have very few ideas at all right now (ok, only one -- and that's paint an unused over-sized trellis white and stick it in the ground as at least something to break up some of the monotony of that wall).

Thanks so much for any suggestions.
by Dixie Angel on August 08, 2006 02:08 AM
I think elephant ears would be gorgeous along that wall...

Dianna

-
 -
by RugbyHukr on August 08, 2006 01:53 PM
how about a small tree out 8-10 feet from the wall.

like a flowering crabapple, flowering almond, or flowering cherry

-
I love the sweet scents wafting in the breeze. I stop to admire the vibrant colors of all living things. And people think me odd. Then ODD I am!!!

http://community.webshots.com/user/flugnash
by Malica on August 09, 2006 03:14 PM
Thanks for the suggestions. I never thought to put a tree up there. I'm not too sure about the Elephant ears though -- the bottom of the window is 6 feet off the ground, so I think it would have to be something even taller than that to fill in that wall.