The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Planting Seeds

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: planting seedlings| Next thread: Planting squash now »
Back to Thread index
by ceeview on August 26, 2006 06:52 AM
Hello,
I've just ordered seeds....Yarrow Summer Pastels..some places call them Achillea. I normally do bulb planting and container planting but never tried to plant seeds.

Is it necessary to start them indoors or just pour the seeds in the ground when it's time. You can tell I'm new at seedlings. [Smile]

Help!
CeeView
by patches1414 on August 26, 2006 08:44 PM
Hi CeeView! [wavey]

Welcome to the forum! [thumb] It's so nice to meet you! [Wink]

I've started plants both ways, but usually with the packaged seeds I just plant them directly in the ground. I have also started some in little starter pots and put them under lights until they were big enough to plant outdoors. I've never planted Yarrow from seeds but I have bought the Yarrow plants and then just planted them in the ground. [Wink]

-
 -
"Lord, I love you and I need you, come into my heart, and bless me, my family, my home, and my friends, in Jesus' name. Amen!"
by tkhooper on August 27, 2006 12:30 AM
Hi Ceeview,

Yarrow is aggressive so it can probably be planted in the soil. Or what's called direct sown. Here are the conditions you need for most forms of Yarrow.

Sow at 20ºC (68ºF). The seeds germinate in less than two weeks. Sprinkle them over the soil and then lightly press them into the soil. They need light to germinate. Once they sprout grow them at 10ºC (50ºF) minimum. If you are going to direct sow this means waiting around two weeks after your last frost date for your areas before you plant them.